Student media awards a Massive success

The team from Massive Magazine at this year's ASPA Awards.

Student media was celebrated in the capital last Friday at the 2017 Aotearoa Student Press Association (ASPA) Awards.

The awards put student media in the spotlight and this year journalists and designers from Critic, Canta, Salient, Massive, Nexus, Debate and Craccum gathered to celebrate.

This year, the awards were hosted by Massive Magazine and the ceremony was held at the publication’s headquarters in Wellington.

Massive took out two awards on the night, Best Original Photography for Liam Hopkinson’s picture of a polar bear in its natural habitat and Best News Story for the magazine’s report on the Albany Students’ Association Executive voting themselves a $26,000 pay rise.

What made the night even more special was a guest appearance from none other than Mike McRoberts, anchor of TV Three’s Newshub.

McRoberts spoke to students about his successful career as one of the country’s leading journalists, and of course posed for the obligatory selfie or ten.

Mike McRoberts, alongside MC Olie Body and Marie Larking, handed out certificates to winners at the 2017 ASPA Awards.

Managing Editor for Massive Magazine Nikki Papatsoumas, says this year the competition was fierce and she is proud of her team at Massive for a solid year’s work.

“There have been big changes at Massive this year, and it is awesome to be recognised at the ASPA Awards. It was an absolute privilege to host this year’s awards and it was huge to have Mike [McRoberts] agree to be there.

“I know next year is going to be huge for Massive so watch this space.”

The big winner on the night was Otago University’s Critic, which took away the supreme award of the night, Best Publication.

Judges this year included Bernie Whelan, Laura McQuillan and Diana Clement.

A full list of this year’s winners:

Best News Story – Massive

Best News Writer – Joel MacManus of Critic

Best Political Writer – James Howe of Debate

Best Reviewer – Chris Wong of Craccum

Best Sports Writer – Charlie Hantler of Critic

Best Column – Nexus

Best Education Feature – Julie Cleaver of Debate

Best Lifestyle Section – Debate

Best Feature Writer – Joel MacManus of Critic

Best Humour – Debate

Best Editorial – Nexus

Best Cover – Craccum

Best Design – Debate

Best Headline – Critic

Best Original Illustration – Debate

Best Original Photography – Massive

Best Feature – Salient

Best Social Media – Nexus

Best Creative Writing – Craccum

Best Publication – Critic

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.