Lecturer of the Year nominations underway

By Taryn Dryfhout

Albany Students’ Association has been taking nominations for Lecturer of the Year (LOTY), an award they have been presenting to the best lecturer at the Albany Campus, as voted by students, since 2005.

The LOTY award recognises teaching excellence and is awarded to a lecturer who has supported academic quality at Massey’s Albany Campus.

Each student has the chance to nominate a lecturer they believe has contributed most to learning in the past year with high-quality teaching that has engaged, and inspired.

The award is presented during an organised ceremony where trophies will be awarded to each college, as well as the overall LOTY, who received the most votes from students.

In addition, all nominees will receive a certificate, containing the positive comments that students provided about them, as part of the voting process.

Last week, the ASA held a lucky dip for those who voted, giving away colouring books, mugs, chocolate, drinks and water bottles as prizes.

Although the event received a great turnout, students still have a chance to vote for the lecturer they feel is most deserving of this honour.

Past winners have included Dr Frederick Lam, Professor Al Nielson and Associate Professor Chris Scogings.

  • Vote online at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.